Contracts on the Transfer of Rights and Licensing Contracts

The bona fide design’s exploitation is the responsibility of the rightowner. Otherwise the patent to the invention (utility model) can be litigated by any person.

One of the forms of exploitation of the invention (utiity model) is the conclusion of contracts on transfer of rights, or the licensing contracts.

Underthe contract on the transfer of rights to invention (utility model), the rightowner transfers all the exclusive rights on exploitation of the invention (utility model), to other interested person, against the remuneration. Herewith the ownership of rights is transferred from the rightowner to the contractual assignee. This type of contract is analogous to the contract of sales.

Licensing Contract - is the contract under which the rightowner (lisensor) grants to the interested party (lisensee) the right on exploitation of the invention (utility model) under the certain conditions and against the certain remuneration. Notwithstanding the extent of the rights granted, the lisensor remains to the the owner of the registration certificate. The licencing contract can be compared with the lease contract.

The contracts specified above, shall be concluded upon the parties’ consent. But they shall also contain the certain provisions that are mandatory under the current legislation.

The contract on transfer of rights and the licencing contract are valid from the moment of their signature by the parties. No notarial certification or the state registration is required. However, under the Law of Ukraine “On protection of Rights to Inventions (Utility Models)” it is possibile to register such a contract in the state authority, if the parties wish so.

Registration of contracts is performed by the State Department of Intellectual Property. Either party or its/their authorized representative has right to submit the contract for the registration. An additional copy of the contract shall thus be submitted to remain in files at the State Department.

The procedure of the contract’s registration takes up to 2 months. It results in inclusion in the state registry of contracts of the information on the respective registered contract, as well as in the publication of such information in the official bulletin “Industrial Property”.

тел.: +38 (044) 233-11-99 факс: +38 (044) 457-88-31 © 2005-2019 info@intellect.ua

Договоры о передаче прав и лицензионные договоры

Добросовестное использование изобретения (полезной модели) является обязанностью его владельца. В противном случае любое лицо может оспорить выдачу патента на данное изобретение (полезную модель).

Одним из способов использования изобретения (полезной модели) является заключение договоров о передаче права или лицензионных договоров.

По договору о передаче прав на изобретение (полезную модель) его владелец передает заинтересованному лицу за определенное вознаграждение все исключительные права на изобретение (полезную модель), вытекающие из патента. При этом владелец утрачивает право собственности, которое переходит к правопреемнику. Данный вид договора аналогичен договору купли-продажи.

Лицензионный договор - соглашение, по которому владелец патента на изобретение (полезную модель) (лицензиар) предоставляет заинтересованному лицу (лицензиату) право использовать это изобретение (полезную модель) за определенное вознаграждение и на определенных условиях. При этом, несмотря на объем прав, переданных по договору, лицензиар остается владельцем патента. Лицензионный договор условно можно сравнить с договором аренды.

Вышеуказанные договоры составляются по согласованию сторон, но должны содержать в себе ряд обязательных положений, установленных нормативными актами.

Договор о передаче права и лицензионный договор вступают в силу с момента их подписания сторонами и не требуют обязательного нотариального заверения или государственной регистрации. Однако Закон Украины «Об охране прав изобретения и полезные модели» предусматривает возможность регистрации подобных договоров по желанию сторон.

Регистрацию договоров осуществляет в установленном порядке Государственный департамент интеллектуальной собственности. Договор на регистрацию может подавать как одна, так и другая сторона, а также доверенное лицо стороны (сторон). При этом стороны обязаны предоставить один экземпляр (оригинал) договора для Госдепартамента.

Процедура регистрации договора занимает около 2-х месяцев. В результате регистрации в Госреестр вносятся сведения о договоре, которые тут же публикуются в официальном бюллетене «Промышленная собственность».

тел.: +38 (044) 233-11-99 факс: +38 (044) 457-88-31 © 2005-2018 info@intellect.ua